Dominican College
Griffith Avenue, Dublin 9

A tribute to Anne Kernan from Dominican College

A tribute to Anne Kernan from Dominican College

A tribute to Anne Kernan from Dominican College

Anne Kernan Science Award Bursary 2011-2019

It is with great sadness that we learned of the passing of Anne Kernan on May 11th 2020 - Anne Kernan was a past pupil of Dominican College, Eccles Street and specifically chose to attend our school so that she could study physics. Following her own studies in Science in UCD specialising and lecturing in Physics, she went on to be part of the team that found two subatomic particles, the Z and W bosons, research that captured the 1984 Nobel Prize in physics for team leader Carlo Rubbia and his partner Simon van der Meer. The two were physicists at the CERN ( European Center for Nuclear Research) high-energy research centre near Geneva where Kernan spent the best part of her research career.

In remembering her formative years of education in Dominican College Anne Kernan - in 2007 personally awarded a Bursary Fund to the school rewarding student’s Academic Excellence in the pursuit of Science. We thank Anne for her contribution to academic excellence in Science in Dominican College, for being a role model for many students yet to follow in her footsteps and for her advocacy of women in science. Anne Kernan will always hold a special place in the heart of Dominican College. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam uasal.

Link to Obituary: Anne Kernan obituary_ trailblazing Irish physicist.pdf

Our prestigious Anne Kernan Award is awarded to the student with the two best science subjects results in the school’s Leaving Certificate and who also goes on to study science at third level. Some of our recent recipients include:

2018 - Katie Hanigan achieving a H1 in both Chemistry and Biology in her Leaving Certificate. Katie is studying Veterinary Science in UCD.

K Hannigan.jpg

2017 - Emma Gaffney achieving two H1’s in Physics and Biology. Emma is studying Human Health and Disease at Trinity College Dublin.

Emma Gaffney.jpg

Award winners 2016-2007

2016 - Joint Winners - Aisling Paterson & Emily Clarke

2015 - Caitríona Quinn

2014 - Eleanor Hulm

2013 - Emma Gleeson

2012 -Joint Winners -Nabeeha Moolan & Eimear Duff

2011 - Susan Clinton

2010 - Christina Caffrey

2009 - Niamh Kearney

2008 - Kate Burke

2007 - Claire Murphy

204 Griffith Ave, Dublin 9, Ireland, D09A5X0.
01 837 6080
Le Cheile
© 2023 Dominican College Griffith Ave.