Dominican College
Griffith Avenue, Dublin 9

Board of Management

The Education Act 1998 states that “it shall be the duty of a Board to manage the school on behalf of the Patron (Trustees)”. The Trustees are the legal owners of the school which the Board of Management has been appointed to manage. The Trustees of Dominican College, Griffith Avenue are Le Chéile Schools Trust.

According to the Articles of Management of Voluntary Secondary Schools, “The school shall be conducted in accordance with the religious and educational philosophy of the Trustees”. The Board of Management is entrusted with the responsibility of ensuring that the curriculum of the school is in accordance with the religious and educational criteria defined by the Trustees.

The Board must act in accordance with any act of the Oireachtas relating to the operation of the school.

The functions of the Board must be performed collectively. Individual members have no power to act on behalf of, or in the name of, the Board. The Board, however, may authorise the Chairperson and/or another member, to act on its behalf, for a specified period of time in respect of a particular function or functions.

The School’s Board of Management is appointed by the Trust Board. It is made up of eight members. Four nominees from the Trust Board, two elected nominees from the Parent Body and two elected nominees from the Teaching Staff. The Chairperson is appointed by the Trust Board and is chosen from the eight members.

Board of Management 2021-2023

  • Chairperson Dr Caroline Renehan
  • The Principal Dr Olive Laffoy acts as Secretary to the Board of Management
  • Parent Members: Ms Claire Gately & Mr Pat McElwain
  • Teacher Members: Ms Maureen Murray & Mr Anthony Friel
  • Trustee Members: Sr Laura Looby OP, Dr Siobhan Daly & Mr Dermot Moran
204 Griffith Ave, Dublin 9, Ireland, D09A5X0.
01 837 6080
Le Cheile
© 2023 Dominican College Griffith Ave.